Street Food/Shawarma/Dubai

Have I been away from blogging for a long week or less with no posts? Oh, my that’s kinda unbelievable for me. Yea blogging is almost my full time job. Everywhere I go or whatever I do I think of how to present something as an interesting article.
Yesterday was a very fine day, had a long drive from Jumeira village circle to deira. Here in Dubai the temperature is around 30-40 during the night, I am guessing based on the weather report I heard a few weeks ago on the radio. I never Checked it since then will be checking soon, these days have been very busy. But believe me it’s so  hot and you can never spend the night out in the streets walking for too long unless someone invents a  cooler like a sweater.
Walking along the streets close to al wasl or souq as they’ve named it, everywhere you smell the delicious mouth watering aroma of grilled chicken, Which is grilled in a skewer placed along a grill vertically for almost a day or so, hot and spicy as you can call it to the Arabian level of spiciness, where as my level is way too adventurous, being born and brought up in Sri Lanka we opt for a bit extra spiciness.
Let’s get back to the grilled chicken, there is a grilled beef option as well. Both are delicious but chicken is my favorite when it comes to a shawarma.
Shawarmas are a flat bread or Rotti filled with those grilled chicken or beef, a vegetable salad and some tomatoes with a couple of spoons of humus which goes really well with the arabic flat bread/Rotti that is used for the shawarmas, always served with a slice of pickled green chillie, carrot, jalapeño or gherkin.
I got some pictures but unfortunately I couldnt get a picture of the shawarma as I had no patience to wait till I get home to eat it, the exciting smell of the shawarma said eat ‘ASAP’ so I ate it in the car. I really enjoy eating while driving. Oooops! I dint mean it that way, I wasn’t driving my hubby was!!!

20120816-005013.jpg

The pickle I got it’s still sitting in my shelf I love pickles.

20120816-005024.jpg

The chicken that stands on the grill all day grilling, which is shaved into bite size thin piece and wrapped in the rotti/flat bread.

20120816-005004.jpg

Leave a Reply

